3 Takeaways from the 2015 CFP Championship

Thank you to Anthony Pruter for his article submission.

Oregon still has problems with the big boys

Oregon has 7 losses over between National Championship appearance seasons.  During that time they have been outrushed 9 times.  Of those 9 times, they have won just 3 games.  In those 6 losses, they have averaged just under 150 yards rushing while their opponents (Arizona twice, Stanford twice, LSU, Auburn, and Ohio St) have averaged almost 230.  The only team they lost to that did not outrush them was the USC in 2011 which was also the only time they managed 200 rushing yards in a loss.  If you compare this to the almost 300 yards per game rushing they average during wins while allowing under 150, it becomes clear that they need to win in the trenches to win the game.

Ohio State is going to be very good next year

While they could lose Cardale Jones and Braxton Miller to the NFL, the Buckeyes did begin the season with a freshman quarterback.  Along the way, J. T. Barrett was close to becoming just the seventh player since 2000 to accumulate 3000 passing yards and 1000 rushing yards. Their top tailback, Ezekiel Elliott, will have to return for at least one more season.  He started off the season slowly due to an injury, but in the most important games (Big 10 Championship, and CFP Bowls) he averaged 232 yards and had a total of 8 touchdowns.  More than half of their defensive should be back next year for another go as well.  And then there is the coach…

Urban Meyer is a legendary coach

I may be overstating this, but Urban Meyer may be one of the greatest coaches of all time.  I am not particularly a fan of his, but his work is undeniable.  He has won everyone he has gone and has undefeated seasons, national championships, or both at 3 of his 4 stops as a head coach.  He has won 3 national titles in 13 seasons, and possibly could have had another if Ohio St had not had sanctions on it in his first season with the school.  He is only eighth coach to reach 3 national championships and is tied for with Barry Switzer and John McKay for the third fastest to get there at 13 seasons. Only Bud Wilkinson, who did it in 10 years, and Frank Leahy, who managed it in 7, accomplished it faster.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s